Is it possible to automate search by hash?

If you are experiencing problems with "Everything", post here for assistance.
Post Reply
santilli
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2024 7:05 am

Is it possible to automate search by hash?

Post by santilli »

For instance, if I have a MD5 hash, which is always 32 characters long, instead of having to manually type
md5:
before inserting the hash, I was wondering if it's possible to use filters/macros aligned with regex, so that whenever I enter a 32-character long string (with no spaces, punctuation or extension) it will automatically perform a md5 search.

Is that doable as of today, using version 1390a?
void
Developer
Posts: 17152
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Is it possible to automate search by hash?

Post by void »

Easiest way:

Adjust your pasted text format (I assume you are pasting the md5 value):
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    paste
  • Select: search_edit_paste_format
  • Set the value to:
    <if:<regexmatch:$newtext:,"^[a-zA-Z0-9]{32}$">,"md5:"$newtext:,$newtext:>
  • Click OK.
Now when you paste md5 values, they will be prefixed with md5:

search_edit_paste_format
santilli
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Apr 30, 2024 7:05 am

Re: Is it possible to automate search by hash?

Post by santilli »

Works precisely as what I needed and that was a very prompt answer wow
Thank you mr tools
Post Reply