Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Have a suggestion for "Everything"? Please post it here.
Post Reply
tuska
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Post by tuska »

Hi,

The following option is currently available:
Set the maximum number of visible items in the filter bar dropdown list
Everything Options - 1.5.0.1386a (x64) > Advanced > filter_visible_count_max

I would also like to have an option to restrict the displayed filters in the “Search” menu.

Reason:
- I currently have about 70 filters.
- When I click on the “Search” menu item, I can no longer select another menu item
  without first pressing the ESC key.

Please check.
Thank you!
void
Developer
Posts: 17152
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Post by void »

Please try the advanced menu_items_per_column setting:
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    menu
  • Select: menu_items_per_column
  • Set the value to: 30
  • Click OK.
menu_items_per_column



Consider menu folders if you want to organize filters into folders.
  • In Everything 1.5, from the Tools menu, click Options.
  • Click the Advanced tab on the left.
  • To the right of Show settings containing, search for:
    menu
  • Select: menu_folders
  • Set the value to: true
  • Click OK.
menu_folders
tuska
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Post by tuska »

Thank you!
That solves the problem!   :)
(Advanced > menu_items_per_column: 20)

Note:
In my case, the break is made after 3 filters, i.e. another “column” is created.

I moved a long filter name down (in the opinion that this was responsible for the break):
Now fewer filters were displayed.

I moved the long filter name up to the 4th position:
Now considerably more filters were displayed – in the right column: 40 filters.
In the “left column” I still have 3 filters and space for 22 filters below.

As I said, the problem has been solved.
Thank you very much for the prompt support!
tuska
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Post by tuska »

Unfortunately, this setting affects bookmarks, which means that I cannot use this option.
I can no longer access the submenus for bookmarks.
void
Developer
Posts: 17152
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Post by void »

I will look into adding a menu-break: search function.
When added to a filter, it will cause that filter to appear in a new menu column.
void
Developer
Posts: 17152
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Post by void »

Everything 1.5.0.1387a adds a menu-break: search modifier.

Filters or bookmarks that use menu-break: in their search will appear in a new menu column.
The menu-break: search modifier does not affect your search.



I also added a menu-separator: search modifier.

Filters that use menu-separator: in their search will appear as a menu separator.
tuska
Posts: 1098
Joined: Thu Jul 13, 2017 9:14 am

Re: Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Post by tuska »

2void
Thanks a lot for your endeavours!

A few comments on this (my interpretation).
⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺
menu-separator: ... for a filter means that after calling up the “Search” menu, this filter is NO longer displayed.
                                                                               However, the filter is displayed in the filter drop-down box!

1. The number of filters displayed in the “Search” menu can thus be REDUCED.
2. The status bar displays the COMPLETE NAME of the example filter, which is 220 CHARACTERS.
    (24” monitor, scaling size 125%, resolution 1920 x 1280 pixels (native screen resolution)).

Example filter - menu-separator: in field "Search"

Code: Select all

Name (DE) ..: mypathfilter<search> | Filter aufrufen UND danach zB program files in die Suchzeile eingeben -> OHNE "" Anführungszeichen! | Pfad "Program Files" wird angezeigt | https://www.voidtools.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=10357
Name (EN) ..: Open the filter AND then enter, for example, program files in the search bar -> WITHOUT the quotation marks ""! The “Program Files” path is displayed.
Parameter ..: ☑️ Match path
Search .....: menu-separator:"search:"
Macro ......: mypathfilter<search>
Search query: program files
⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺
menu-break:: ... with ANY filter (!) causes a break in the filters when the “Search” menu is called up,
                          i.e. the display of the filters is split into two columns.

Example filter - menu-break: in field "Search"

Code: Select all

Name (DE) ..: mypathfilter<search> | Filter aufrufen UND danach zB program files in die Suchzeile eingeben -> OHNE "" Anführungszeichen! | Pfad "Program Files" wird angezeigt | https://www.voidtools.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=10357
Name (EN) ..: Open the filter AND then enter, for example, program files in the search bar -> WITHOUT the quotation marks ""! The “Program Files” path is displayed.
Parameter ..: ☑️ Match path
Search .....: menu-break:"search:"
Macro ......: mypathfilter<search>
Search query: program files
1. In the left column, the view is broken up after 2 or 3 filters for me.
    Theoretically, a further 32 filters could be displayed below the 3 filters.
2. In the right column, the view of the filters is continued, which for me is 50 filters without the possibility
    of scrolling down to reach further filters (as is possible with bookmarks, for example).
3. The “Search” menu cannot display the total number of available filters (I have about 70 filters).
    This means that the ACTIVE FILTER (marked with a '●' dot) can no longer be shown, if the filter No. is >50, e.g. filter no. 52.
    Personally, this doesn't bother me because I only work with the 'filter bar dropdown list'.
3. After calling up the "Search" menu, the title and menu line are OVERLAPED/OVERFADED.
    Here, I would like the display to start below the menu bar, as is the case in the “File” or “Edit” menu, for example.
    Workaround: Press the ESC key. The same applies to BOOKMARKS.
4. The menu-break: search modifier in a filter does not affect displaying bookmarks! :)
⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺⸺

At the moment, I am already very satisfied with the solution.
In my opinion, any possible improvements are NOT urgent.

Thanks again!
void
Developer
Posts: 17152
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Menu "Search" - Limit the amount of displayed FILTERS

Post by void »

Thank you for your reply tuska,

I have on my TODO list to rewrite the context menus to improve positioning and scrolling.
Post Reply