Parent: no longer seems to work as it did (1.5.0.1310a)

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
hellen_dorandt89
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2022 5:52 pm

Parent: no longer seems to work as it did (1.5.0.1310a)

Post by hellen_dorandt89 »

Code: Select all

Parent: "C:\Users\User1\"
The above does not work (as in no hits found)

Below works, after removing space after Parent: it works

Code: Select all

Parent:"C:\Users\User1\"

Code: Select all

Parent: User1 \
this also does not work anymore

Also a filter with just Parent: in it and nothin else changing does not work with a search like:

Code: Select all

"C:\Users\User1\"
or

Code: Select all

User1 \

Are these intentional changes or beta bugs? the Parent: flag is one of my favourate ways to use Everything and I would like to retain its flexibility. Thanks :]
NotNull
Posts: 5458
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Parent: no longer seems to work as it did (1.5.0.1310a)

Post by NotNull »

There should not be a space between parent: function and its parameter (the foldername).
See Everything Search Synatx.

In which version of Everything were you able to use parent:<space>folder ?
(If that worked, I consider *that* to be the bug :))


You can create a Parent filter by using the following settings:

Code: Select all

Name = Parent
Search = parent:query:
Macro = <query>


Topic moved to the Everything 1.5 Alpha forum
hellen_dorandt89
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2022 5:52 pm

Re: Parent: no longer seems to work as it did (1.5.0.1310a)

Post by hellen_dorandt89 »

Am I going crazy?! For the life of me I remember using it as I stated. Hmm Maybe I was doing it in my dreams, I've been having really good dreams about SearchEverything lately. :lol:

Okay that aside,
There should not be a space between parent: function and its parameter (the foldername).
See Everything Search Synatx.
If so then does that mean Parent: does not support searching multiple paths? like:

Code: Select all

Parent:"C:\Users\User1\Downloads\" | "C:\Users\User1\" "

Code: Select all

Parent: User1 \
Also this would so usefull to have as a feature, its just simply not ideal to type the full path, instead of the simple user1 / which I can already use as standard search, please consider this option Mr Void!
NotNull
Posts: 5458
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Parent: no longer seems to work as it did (1.5.0.1310a)

Post by NotNull »

Try it with one of the following (requires Everything 1.5):

Code: Select all

parent:"C:\Users\User1\Downloads\";"C:\Users\User1\"
parent:<"C:\Users\User1\Downloads\"|"C:\Users\User1\">
\user1\* | \Downloads\*
hellen_dorandt89
Posts: 52
Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2022 5:52 pm

Re: Parent: no longer seems to work as it did (1.5.0.1310a)

Post by hellen_dorandt89 »

hey those seem very intresting, I will give them a go! Thanks allot NotNull!
fionut
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 16, 2023 6:08 pm

Re: Parent: no longer seems to work as it did (1.5.0.1310a)

Post by fionut »

It seems that it returns zero results also if there is a space in the name of the folder

this returns results :

Code: Select all

parent:C:\Users\Ionut\Desktop\RO\ 

but this does not:

Code: Select all

parent:C:\Users\Ionut\Desktop\RO 1\
Version 1.5.0.1343a (x64)
NotNull
Posts: 5458
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: Parent: no longer seems to work as it did (1.5.0.1310a)

Post by NotNull »

If a name contains spaces, it needs to be enclosed in "" to prevent Everything from seeing the space as AND :

Code: Select all

parent:"C:\Users\Ionut\Desktop\RO 1\"

BTW: Version 1.5.0.1346a has been released too.
Post Reply