Column Formula's - how to reference columns or fields that have spaces in their name

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
defza
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:49 pm

Column Formula's - how to reference columns or fields that have spaces in their name

Post by defza »

How do I reference the 'Regular Expression Match 0' column in the Column Formulas?
I'm trying something like regex:binary:content:^\x00+$ column1:=len("Regular Expression Match 0:")
but it doesn't seem ok?
How do we use columns with spaces in their name?
void
Developer
Posts: 16672
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Column Formula's - how to reference columns or fields that have spaces in their name

Post by void »

To show the regular expression match 0 column:
  • Right click the results list column header and click Add columns....
  • Search for: reg
  • Select Regular Expression Match 0 and click OK.
-or-

Include the following in your search:

add-column:regmatch0


How do I reference the 'Regular Expression Match 0' column in the Column Formulas?
with regmatch0:

For example:

column1:=regmatch0:
column1:=len(regmatch0:)

regmatch0: is a property alias for regular expression match 0.


How do we use columns with spaces in their name?
Please either convert the spaces to - or leave them out.

For example:
column1:=regular-expression-match-0:
column1:=regularexpressionmatch0:



Column Formulas
defza
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Column Formula's - how to reference columns or fields that have spaces in their name

Post by defza »

Thanks for that, would be good to have that info on the documentation for reference
defza
Posts: 30
Joined: Thu Apr 18, 2019 12:49 pm

Re: Column Formula's - how to reference columns or fields that have spaces in their name

Post by defza »

Not possible to do it like Excel, 'my sheet name with spaces', they use single quotes to indicate it? Not essential though.
void
Developer
Posts: 16672
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: Column Formula's - how to reference columns or fields that have spaces in their name

Post by void »

I'll look into 'property name' support.

It's a little tricky to do because of how Everything parses parameters with column1:=

Thank you for the suggestion.
Post Reply