How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
How can one open a file or folder in the search result in the portable FreeCommander (https://freecommander.com/de/portable-downloads/) being already open (not in a new instance)?
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Code: Select all
"C:\path to\FreeCommander.exe" /C /Z /L="c:\some folder\some file.txt"
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Many thanks!
Sorry, where do I have to put this? In the EverythingFileAssociations.ini? Or somewhere in Everything? And "some folder", "some file" has to be exchange with what? Sorry for my bad inability.
"J:\Programme\FreeCommander\FreeCommander.exe" /C /Z /L="c:\some folder\some file.txt"
Sorry, where do I have to put this? In the EverythingFileAssociations.ini? Or somewhere in Everything? And "some folder", "some file" has to be exchange with what? Sorry for my bad inability.
"J:\Programme\FreeCommander\FreeCommander.exe" /C /Z /L="c:\some folder\some file.txt"
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
In Everything:
Menü:Extras > Einstellungen > Allgemein > Kontextmenü:
Öffnen (Ordner) =
Menü:Extras > Einstellungen > Allgemein > Kontextmenü:
Öffnen (Ordner) =
$exec("J:\Programme\FreeCommander\FreeCommander.exe" /C /Z /L="%1")
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Oh, a different code.
Many thanks, got it working.
Can one use a shortcut to open the folder?
And is there a way to open the folder of a selected file?
Many thanks, got it working.
Can one use a shortcut to open the folder?
And is there a way to open the folder of a selected file?
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Typically, that would be the ' ENTER' key.
In Everything:
Menü:Extras > Einstellungen > Allgemein > Kontextmenü:
Pfad Öffnen =
$exec("J:\Programme\FreeCommander\FreeCommander.exe" /C /Z /L="%1")
Shortcuts can be configured under Menu:Tools > Options > General > Keyboard
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Ah, very great, all works fine. If only I had asked earlier. Holy....the Enter key, yes, of course, sorry, or double click. Thank you very much!
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Sorry for being very brief in my responses; I was in a hurry. You deserved a more detailed explanation.
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
No no, absolutely no reason for sorry. On the contrary, many (much more) thanks for answering although being in a hurry! And it doesn't happen that often (for me) that something works so quickly.
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
OK, so luckily no puppies were harmed in the process
BTW: 'CTRL + ENTER' opens the path of a file in FreeCommander. The filename itself will be pre-selected.
And when you enable "Open path with double click in path column" (under Options > General > Results ), you can do exactly that - Open path with double click in path column - as a mouse alternative to 'CTRL + ENTER'
BTW: 'CTRL + ENTER' opens the path of a file in FreeCommander. The filename itself will be pre-selected.
And when you enable "Open path with double click in path column" (under Options > General > Results ), you can do exactly that - Open path with double click in path column - as a mouse alternative to 'CTRL + ENTER'
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Yes yes, all puppies are feeling good.
Thank you very much!
Ah, that is great! Unbelievable, some of the most important shortcuts (and option(s)) I didn't know (instead acting extremely laboriously).BTW: 'CTRL + ENTER' opens the path of a file in FreeCommander. The filename itself will be pre-selected.
BTW: 'CTRL + ENTER' opens the path of a file in FreeCommander. The filename itself will be pre-selected.
And when you enable "Open path with double click in path column" (under Options > General > Results ), you can do exactly that - Open path with double click in path column - as a mouse alternative to 'CTRL + ENTER'
Thank you very much!
-
- Posts: 687
- Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Unfortunately, this solution apparently does not work when there are pauses in the path. My version is
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files (x86)\FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe" /C /Z /L="%1")
'C:\Program Files (x86'
I tried multiple variations of writing the path and changing the variables at the end and also more than menu Menu Context Item [i.e. Open Path, explore Path etc.]. It was not working with earlier versions of Everything and of FreeCommander - and now it spills that error in Everything 1.4.1.1015 (x64) with FreeCommander Build 861 32-bit public on Windows 10 Enterprise 20H2 19042.746
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
The reason why this didn't work as expected is revealed when you hover the mouse above the command box:
You need to replace the ( and ) in the path with $( and $) respectively.
So this should work (untested):
You need to replace the ( and ) in the path with $( and $) respectively.
So this should work (untested):
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe" /C /Z /L="%1")
-
- Posts: 687
- Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
It worked, thank you
I was suspecting it had something to do with >>(<< and >>)<<; prior to that I tried doubling them and putting in quotes
For my modus operandi I need to use Open Path with
and Explore Path with
so that I will have a conscious choice of being able to see the path opened either on my left or right Panel of FreeCommander. And I had to get rid of >>/C<< and >>/Z<<, as they were causing both Open Path and Explore Path to ignore this difference and open in the chosen Panel only every other time, thus creating chaos. And I could do that because FC is my go-to file-manager thus is constantly running. The whole list of FC command line parameters is available here https://freecommander.com/fchelpxe/en/C ... eters.html - and thus it seems that it is impossible to open path in the currently active Panel because these below do not work
but that is not that important of an additional choice to have. What I would rather be able to do is to use Open Path and Explore Path with the file that was chosen being shown if FreeCommander as selected. Yes I know- I can do it with CTRL being pushed down or just by double clicking it in the Path Column, but it is not the same [being not user-friendly all the way because the first method requires using a keyboard while the second always uses the Left Panel]
I was suspecting it had something to do with >>(<< and >>)<<; prior to that I tried doubling them and putting in quotes
For my modus operandi I need to use Open Path with
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe" /T /L="%1")
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe" /T /R="%1")
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe" /T="%1")
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe")
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
The following parameters are working perfect for me with an already running FC.
It switches to the folder or file in the active side.
The item from the search result is selected (for files) or entered (for folders).
/C /Z /L="%1"
It switches to the folder or file in the active side.
The item from the search result is selected (for files) or entered (for folders).
/C /Z /L="%1"
-
- Posts: 687
- Joined: Wed Jun 01, 2022 5:01 pm
Re: How can one open a file or folder in the search result in FreeCommander being already open?
Well now
seems to be working A-OK, i.e. without that switching form left to right. Maybe earlier I had typo of some sort, like a pause or something
Code: Select all
$exec("C:\Program Files $(x86$)\FreeCommander XE\FreeCommander.exe" /C /Z /T /L="%1")