2 undocumented alpha changes

Discussion related to "Everything" 1.5 Alpha.
Post Reply
Dorf
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:46 am

2 undocumented alpha changes

Post by Dorf »

I just noticed these because they broke my autohotkey scripts.

1. cursor keys when renaming a file are now different from non-alpha and the windows standard.
2. window class is now EVERYTHING_(1.5a). it used to not have a version number in it.
void
Developer
Posts: 16672
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 11:31 pm

Re: 2 undocumented alpha changes

Post by void »

Thank you for your feedback Dorf,
1. cursor keys when renaming a file are now different from non-alpha and the windows standard.
Everything 1.5 will move the caret to the end of the selection by default.
(Same behavior as Windows 10+)

To disable this:
In Everything, type in the following search and press ENTER:
/rename_move_caret_to_selection_end=0
If successful, rename_move_caret_to_selection_end=0 is shown in the status bar for a few seconds.

I'll look into disabling this by default on Windows 10 and earlier.

rename_move_caret_to_selection_end


2. window class is now EVERYTHING_(1.5a). it used to not have a version number in it.
This only applies to the Alpha version.

The Alpha version of Everything runs in a "1.5a" instance.

This 1.5a instance will be removed when Everything 1.5 is ready for beta/release.

To disable the 1.5a Instance:
  • Please make sure Everything 1.4 is not installed and running.
  • Completely exit out of Everything (right click the Everything system tray icon and click Exit)
  • Open your Everything-1.5a.ini file in the same location as your Everything64.exe
  • Add the following line to the end of the file:
    alpha_instance=0
  • Save changes and restart Everything.
  • Everything will no longer use an instance name for window classes (IPC)
  • Everything will continue to use the 1.5a instance name for settings, data and the Everything Service.
Dorf
Posts: 20
Joined: Mon Feb 25, 2013 6:46 am

Re: 2 undocumented alpha changes

Post by Dorf »

Thank you for the response.

I made the rename change as it is easier if everything matches the behavior of the host windows version.

For the windows name i just changed my AHK macro to
#IfWinActive ahk_exe Everything64.exe
so the class change isn't an issue.
NotNull
Posts: 5458
Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 9:22 pm

Re: 2 undocumented alpha changes

Post by NotNull »

If needed, an alternative to using ahk_exe:
Check if class starts with EVERYTHING (using regular expressions)

On top of your script:
SetTitleMatchMode, RegEx

and then you can use:
#IfWinActive, ahk_class ^EVERYTHING


This works with Everything 1.4 and 1.5; named instances too.
Post Reply